WhatsApp message revoking feature seems to be taking some shape now. After spending a considerate amount of time with developers under beta, it has started rolling out. According to some screenshots, it is being called as WhatsApp ‘Delete for everyone’ message.
The screenshots come from the WABetainfo website, which keeps a track of upcoming WhatsApp features across OSes.
What is WhatsApp ‘Delete for everyone’ message feature?
This new feature was until now known as the WhatsApp message ‘revoking’ feature. This has been spotted in beta builds before and is witnessing a wider roll out now. With this, users can pull back a sent message within a limited time frame.
It comes in handy when a message is sent by mistake to someone else. For now, most users have the option to delete the message for themselves only, once sent. But this will remove the message from the receiver’s chat thread as well.
WhatsApp ‘Delete for everyone’ message feature rollout on mobile and web.
The instant messaging firm has not yet announced the rollout of the feature just yet. However, the report from the website suggests its arrival on all three major mobile platforms – Android, iOS and Windows Phone.
Also mentioned is that the particular feature also supports web and desktop apps.
Not only texts are supported
Yes, this new feature not only works for text messages but for contacts cards, location shares, images, videos, GIFs, voice messages and more. However, it is being said that quoted text messages are not supported for now.
How does it work?
When a WhatsApp message is deleted using this feature, the instant messenger sends a fake copy of the message to the receiver. The receiver gets the alert however, the message won’t show up on the notification alert or the thread. It will instead, search for the ID of the original text and delete it from the database.
While the recalled message will be deleted from the notification centre in iOS, it will show the text ‘This message was deleted for everyone’.
Some points to note
Users will have a 7-minute window to recall the sent messages. This might seem enough time but it should be worth noting that the other party might take only a few seconds to read them.
In addition, you might have to think twice before sending WhatsApp messages to a Symbian OS user. The feature does not support the OS version so you won’t be able to retract the message.