WhatsApp, the instant messaging application owned by Facebook, few days after launching the WhatsApp Business app has now introduced a major new feature. The chatting app has this time received the WhatsApp Live Location feature. As you can imagine, it lets you share your location with others and tracks you as you move around.
Until now, WhatsApp had a location sharing feature but that was a one-time static location sharing. The new ‘Live Location’ feature is rolling out on both the major mobile platforms – Android and iOS. Since the rollout is incremental, not everyone will get the feature at once.
So how does WhatsApp Live Location works?
The feature is not hidden somewhere deep inside the app. It is present at the same place from where we used to share the location until now. The option is present under the ‘Location’ function when tapped on the ‘Attachment’ icon inside a chat. On iOS the same feature is found under the ‘Plus’ icon.
You can share your live location for limited time period. It can either be for 15 minutes, an hour or for 8 hours. Out of these, the app chooses 1 hour as the default time for WhatsApp Live Location. You can manually stop the Live Location feature at any given time.
WhatsApp Live Location on groups/individual chats
This new feature works on both individual chats and in group chats as well. In groups, you can share your location with others and vice versa. Below the map you can see the profiles of those who have shared their location. WhatsApp says that live location sharing is end-to-end encrypted so no other party or hackers can track users.
Inside chats, you can see the shared live location as a thumbnail. Tapping on it will lead you to a map. According to media reports, you can change the view on the map, look for traffic or change to satellite/terrain view.